Random shots from Phillip Island fishing trip

Before I began this marine biology degree, there were many discussions with friends about the issues of being a mature age student, moving from a cosmopolitan city to a small country town and being three and a half hours away from my closest friends.

But one of the things my mates were worried about was that my uni degree would make me hate fishing and try to convince them to do the same. While I’m opposed to large-scale bottom trawling, illegal fishing operations and similar environmental disasters, I doubt anyone could convince me not to enjoy a quick weekend boat trip with friends. This past weekend was spent on one of those, finding some small pockets in the small regions of Western Port (a bay 1.5 hours southeast of Melbourne) to catch flathead, snapper, barracouta, whiting and tailor.

Image

Tony lucked into a small school of couta. We had several severed lines courtesy of the couta’s razor-sharp teeth but he snagged this one on pilchard bait. Not great eating thanks to the plethora of small bones.

Image

Whale tail wake from our fishing boat. Late afternoon return to Rhyll pier, Phillip Island.

Image

An overly friendly local seal pup. This Australian seal hangs around the Rhyll pier, begging for fish from boats returning to dock and scooping up the fish guts under the cleaning table.

Image

Had a sick feeling in my stomach when my mate’s dad hooked this Port Jackson shark. Luckily we were able to get the hook out without too much damage and returned him to the water.

Photos taken on my Samsung WB500, ISO 80, f/7.5, 1/125

About oceanicexplorer

https://oceanicexplorer.wordpress.com

Posted on April 24, 2012, in boating, conservation, fishing, photography, Victoria and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. What beautiful pictures! So refreshing to know that there are still people out there who care for and respect our oceans and sea life.

    • thank you! Lots more pictures I could put up so may have to start a gallery elsewhere. I meet lots of people who are passionate about protecting the ocean, some of them even commercial fishermen with long-term goals of ‘fishing for the future’, to paraphrase the Vic fisheries motto

  2. nice posts. Recently, I went on a roadtrip of 3700 kilometers, may like to check it out: http://wp.me/p8p4rd-aQ do give your feedback.

Leave a Reply

